Fifth capture

We caught our fifth snow leopard a couple of days ago. I don’t suppose that I have to write which sex it is… His name is probably Saikhan or Saihan, Mongolians use the Cyrillic alphabet and I am not sure how to spell his name, if this will be his name, I am not sure about that either. Saikhan means “beautiful” in Mongolian, this cat has the prettiest spot pattern of all the ones that we have caught or photographed in Tost Uul (so I think).

He is the smallest snow leopard that we have caught so far, weighing about 33 kg. Meg, a vet from Seattle is here for a couple of weeks and she provided good aid during the capture.  

We have spent the last days scouting the area around Base Camp to see if there are any good trap sites in the vicinity. I will move back to Base camp in early June. Rumor has it that there is a lot of people coming to camp in mid-June. That will be a change, can’t even imagine what it will be like to have more than two people around me. I have been here for almost four months and it’s almost three months until I go home. That feels like a very, very long time right now. 

Hey, does anyone out there know anyone who works at Yamaha? I am in desperate need of one more dirt bike and thought that maybe they would consider donating one. If you have any ideas, please post them on the blog.

Leave a comment