No ‘littles’ in the Gobi

As we were eating breakfast a couple of days ago it struck me that there are no ‘littles’ here. There is never “a little wind” or “a little hot” or “a little lonely” and so on. Two days before this breakfast it was really hot with a blazing sun. I was wearing a shirt and still sweated heavily. Day after it was so cold that I had to dig out the longjohns and woolen cap again. This morning the wind blew so hard that the ger moved, motorbiking would involve a substantial risk of crashing if caught in a crosswind.
 
For the past 50 days I have had company more or less 24/7. The visitors have been great but it is a little tiring to constantly have people that are dependent on me in camp. Well, the alternative is to be alone here, which I have been for the last three days. Alone means not talk to or see another human being. So not ‘a little’ alone. Totally alone.
 
Since my brother installed the microprocessors our trap surveillance system has worked perfect! Until a few hours after my asistant and Charu left camp, then it broke down… With excellent help from my brother I have isolated the problem, a small amplifier broke. It is a common part found in most stores that sell electronic supplies and it costs a couple of dollars. That’s all sweet and dandy, just there are no electronic stores here. So I get up every third hour and climb the mountian to manually listen to the trap transmitters. How I would love to be just a little tired and a little screwed.

2 Responses to “No ‘littles’ in the Gobi”

  1. Jen Says:

    Is it a bit less lonely if you get comments here on your blog? You are doing amazing and hard and important work. Keep writing and people will comment more as your readership grows! If you like that sort of thing…

  2. More Info Says:

    I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a comment